Drew Estate Flying Ferel Pig

Posted: May 24, 2012 in Cigar
Tags:

20120524-002517.jpg

Up for review today is the Drew Estate Flying Ferel Pig.
This review was submitted by Logan Lawler.

Wrapper: Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro
Binder: Brazilian Mata Fina
Filler: Nicaraguan

Brief History: I have smoked the Liga Privida #9 but have had the hardest time getting my hands on this cigar. It is super popular and most places if they are even able to obtain any, sell out quickly. I was able to cigar weasel this on in a trade with another BOTL.

Construction and Appearance: 10

The wrapper on the cigar is beautiful. I love the pig tail cap and normally I don’t like perfecto cigars because the foot can be difficult to light without scorching the wrapper. I thought it was a nice to have a bigger foot to light.

Size: 5.375 x 60

Paired with what drink: Mountain Dew

Price: Around $15 if you can find it

Body of Cigar: First half of the cigar was medium and it become fuller bodied as the smoke progressed.

Flavor: 7

Burn: 9

Pre-Lite: Cut the cigar with my Xikar scissors and lit it with my butane lighter.

1st: Notes of earth and chocolate and some leather. Tons of smoke but the burn was a bit wavy.
2nd: The middle was a lot like the beginning and didn’t show any complexity.
3rd: The finish was long and added some sweetness to end the smoke. Also, the pepper notes really kicked up at the end which went well with the sweetness.

Conclusion: I would say it was good, but not as mind blowing as everything seems to think it is. The chocolate and earth flavors are delicious but the overall cigar wasn’t as complex as I expected. I would have a hard time buying another one at full price. I think everyone should try this cigar, but most likely you will try it just once.

20120524-002558.jpg

Leave a Reply

